The Steel Toad Brewing Company is housed in the beautifully restored Opsal Steel building, which has long stood as a prime example of the area’s rich industrial history.
The Opsal Steel building was built by Dominion Construction in 1918, and was originally home to the Columbia Block and Tool Company, before being taken over by the namesake of the building, Opsal Steel. Opsal produced forging and rigging equipment in the building under the OSCO brand for over half a century. Authentic photos and blueprints pulled from the company’s archives can be seen on the west walls of the building.
Over a five year period, the building was carefully disassembled, and salvageable materials such as windows and the original lumber beams were restored off site. The historic pieces were then reassembled and reinforced with modern structural elements and design. The finished building remains faithful to the original industrial design, while providing an elegant and intimate experience.
The inside of the new building is airy and open, yet intimate and inviting. The angled roof and curtains provide fantastic sound, a rarity for rooms of this size.
A new business means a new sign, but rather than go flashy and modern, we've decided to pay homage to the style of exterior signage traditional to the era.
A stark visual contrast to the wooden building, the stainless steel of the modern brewing equipment provides one of the more unique backdrops of any restaurant or pub in the city.
Not found on the original building, the restoration added a mezzanine for increased structural support. In addition to the safety aspect, it provides a more intimate and traditional dining area, without feeling like a different space altogether.
In addition to using restored timber from the old building in the construction of the new one, we've also made an attempt to decorate with salvaged objects and photos where possible. Look for artifacts hanging from above, as well as wallpaper printed from photos and blueprints recovered from Opsal Steel files.